Professional Development


The Oklahoma State Department of Education is available to provide professional development for teachers and administrators in their local areas. Training formats include face-to-face and video conference or webinar (point-to-point/distance learning) technology. In order for professional development to have as much impact as possible, face-to-face trainings need to include representation from at least five districts, an entire county, or contain at least 25 teachers and/or administrators. For point-to-point/distance learning technology interactions, any size group can be accommodated.

Professional Development Request Form

Professional Development Calendar

Offices That Provide Professional Development 

21st CCLC Grantee Resources: Professional Development

Advanced Placement

Alternative Education

Bullying Prevention

Counselling

Early Childhood and Family Education

English Language Arts

Health and Physical Education Professional Development

Instruction

Instructional Technology

Mathematics

RSA Professional Development (Reading and Literacy)

Science & Science Implementation

Social Studies

Special Ed Assessment

Special Ed Services

TLE

World Languages

 

Professional Development Required for 2018-2019

TRAININGAUDIENCEGUIDING LAW OR RULEDATES/FREQUENCY AND SUGGESTED RESOURCES

Alcohol and Drug Awareness

Certified employees & support staff

70 O.S. 1210.225

70 O.S. 1210.229-5

Once each school year OSDE Substance Abuse Prevention Resources

Autism

Certified employees & support staff who work with students in early childhood to third grade

H.B. 1684 70 O.S. 2011.194.6One time every three years OSDE Autism Resources
Bloodborne PathogensCertified employees & support staff20 CFR 1910.1030Once each school year Overview 1 Overview 2

Bloodborne Pathogens Standards Booklet

Bullying PreventionCertified employees & support staffHB 1661 70 O.S. 24-100
OAC 210:10-1-20
Once each school year OSDE Bullying Prevention Resources
Bus Driver TrainingSchool Bus DriversOAC 210:30-5-8 (Section b:3-A)4 hours of training every year - 2 of the 4 hours must come from the first 14 subjects on the OSDE Annual Inservice Attendance Verification form
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) & Heimlich ManeuverOne certified teacher one noncertified staff member per school site70 O.S. 1210.199

Once each school year OSDE CPR Information Oklahoma Emergency Guidelines for Schools American Red Cross American Heart Association

Child Abuse and Neglect; Child Sexual

Abuse Awareness & Reporting

Certified employees & support staff

H.B. 1684

Amendment to 70 O.S. 6-194,

24-100.5

70 O.S. 1210.160, 1210.161; 10

O.S. 601.69

Once each school year OSDE Youth Violence Prevention Resources Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth Oklahoma State Department of Health

Diabetes Management

Employees responsible for students with diabetes

H.B. 1051

70 O.S. 1210.196.2

Once each school year OSDE Diabetes Management Training Oklahoma State Department of Health

EL (English Learners)

Certified employees & support staff who work with EL students

Title III, Part A

Public Law 107 – 110 – Jan. 8, 2002

115 Statute 1698

“. . . of sufficient intensity and duration (which shall not include activities such as one-day or short-term workshops and conferences) to have a positive and lasting impact on the teachers’ performance in the classroom.” OSDE Bilingual and English Learner Resources

FERPA

(Family Educational Rights & Privacy Act)

Certified employees & support staff

20 U.S.C. § 1232g; 34 CFR Part 99

(Section 438 of the General Education Provisions Act, P.L. 90-247 and P.L. 93-380 as amended) OAC 210:1-3-8

Once each school year General Overview FERPA for School Officials

Finance

School District Encumbrance Clerks and Treasurer Clerks

70 O.S. 5-190

OAR 210:25-5-10

OAR 210:25-5-11

Initial training within 9 months of hire then 12 hours of approved training every 3 years from the date of initial employment.

Oklahoma Administrative Rule for

Hazardous Communications

Certified employees & support staff

29 CFR 1910.1200

Once each school year Overview 1 Overview 2

OSHA Training Requirements Hazardous Communications Standards Booklet

Parental Outreach

Parents, guardians, & custodians of students

OAC 210:20-19-2

Type and frequency determined by local board of education Oklahoma Parent Teacher Association

Racial & Ethnic Education

Certified employees & support staff

OAC 210:20-19-2

Type and frequency determined by local board of education Teaching Tolerance

Sports-Related Head Injuries-Concussion Management Guidelines- Penalties

Coaches, game & team officials, student athletes & parents/guardians

70 O.S. 24-155

Once each school year Oklahoma State Department of Health

Sudden Cardiac Arrest Training

Coaches, student athletes & parents/guardians must sign and return information sheet found on OSDE website

S.B. 239

70 O.S. 24-156

Once each school year by a provider approved by the OSDH OSDE Sudden Cardiac Arrest Resources Oklahoma State Department of Health

Superintendent Training

First-time Oklahoma superintendents

OAC 210:20-21-1

Eleven days (66 hours) of training during first year of employment as a superintendent

CCOSA (Cooperative Council Oklahoma School Administration)

Title IX

Certified employees & support staff of institutions receiving federal financial assistance

Sex Discrimination (Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972)

At least one certified or support staff named as Title IX coordinator to ensure compliance. Training determined by local board of education.

US Department of Education USDE Title IX Resource Guide

TLE Framework Training

First-time evaluators of certified personnel

70 O.S. 6-101.10

Initial training completed prior to conducting evaluations of certified personnel OSDE TLE Resources

TLE Training

Workplace Safety Training in Schools

Teachers of grades 7-12 are informed of the importance of incorporating training into curriculum

S.B. 262

70 O.S. 11-103.6j

Safety and Health Curriculum

 

Last updated on August 8, 2018