Upcoming, Synchronous Mathematics Professional Learning Opportunities

NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, many in-person workshops have been postponed, cancelled, or moved to a virtual format. We will update this page with the latest opportunities as they become available.

The office of Curriculum and Instruction provides many professional learning opportunities throughout the year. On this page, you will find:

For all asynchronous, ongoing math professional learning opportunities, visit the ongoing professional learning opportunities page

Featured Professional Learning Opportunties

Elementary Math Workshops

OSDE, in partnership with Math Solutions, is offering free, virtual professional development opportunities designed to advance effective teaching in elementary mathematics. These opportunities include a three-day workshop for elementary math teachers.

This three-day workshop will focus on bridging mathematical knowledge gaps while teaching grade-level curriculum, engaging students, and using differentiation to facilitate growth in student agency, efficacy and content knowledge. Educators will choose one day from each set of options for a total of three days:

  • Day 1 Options: June 14, 15 or 28
  • Day 2 Options: June 16, 18 or 29
  • Day 3 Options: June 17, 24 or 30

View the agenda.

Workshops fill quickly; please confirm you are able to commit to attending, then register today.

If you have questions, contact Susan Kirk, Director of Elementary Mathematics, at susan.kirk@sde.ok.gov.

Monthly OKMath Meet-Ups

Each month, math educators will have the chance to come together virtually for professional learning and networking. These meetings are for any math educators and will focus on the Return to Learn Instructional Guidance for Secondary Mathematics.

Our final meeting for the 2020-2021 academic year will be May 12, 2021. Come learn more about Math Teachers' Circles and have fun with mathematics! All meetings from 3:30-4:30 p.m. Register here.

Future meetings dates will be sent through the OKMath Newsletters and posted on this webpage. Sign up for the OKMath newsletters today!

Calendar of all Mathematics Professional Learning Opportunities

Please be patient as the calendar of events loads below. Click on an event to see location, times, and additional details about the learning opportunity. Continue to scroll past the calendar to see additional virtual opportunities, professional learning communities, and more.

Email Christine Koerner for more information.

Information about the Elementary Mathematics Specialist Certification

OEMS is a program that allows elementary and early childhood teachers to earn their elementary mathematics specialist certification in grades PK-5.

Program prerequisites

(1) have valid teacher certification in Elementary Education and/or Early Childhood Education; (2) have two years of full-time teaching experience in grades Pre-Kindergarten through Grade 5 at an accredited school under a valid state issued teacher credential.  

In order to obtain certification in Oklahoma as an Elementary Mathematics Specialist, you must fulfill the following requirements:

Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on May 6, 2021